Ruby

Bought your book this morning and have been enjoying it.  I have a question, and then a comment. I am 64.  I have always been adventurous.  I find myself at a crossroad in my life, trying to figure my next move.  I had been considering vanaboding, at least for a few years, but there is one issue I don't know how to resolve.  I have severe sleep apnea and sleep with an electric powered c-pap machine.  I can't see how to manage this while parked at Walmart.  Do you have any thoughts?

0 0
journeyman
The idea of Vanaboding is to reduce your overhead to the point that you can travel job free (gain back as much time as you can). However you do NOT have to do it EXACTLY as I have described. I think you would need to use a CLASS B conversion van with a generator for your medical equipment and SKIP all the cost saving stealth stuff all together. You can you can still do it on a small budget, and STILL stay out for a week or two at a time, then refill your fuel for the van and generator and move to a new spot. The only thing you give up is staying in CITIES where running the generator all night would bring unwelcome attention. 
0 0
Ruby
Well, one of the most attractive things about this option is staying in cities.  I lived in San Francisco for 32 years and in Las Vegas for 5.  As you mentioned in your book, both are great cities. I saw you had some sort of conversion gadget that fit in an outlet in your truck.  Is this not something I could use to power my c-pap?  If I had to go to a motor home, I would probably go with truck and travel trailer, since I can't stealth camp anyway.  But that really costs a lot more.  Sure would like to be stealthy! 
0 0
journeyman

Try the inverter described in the Vanabode book, it may offer enough power for your medical device but I am not sure.

0 0
AbeFroman